musings in mayhem

writer, mom, tutor, superwoman

nanowrimo

Shucks, I have neglected posting pics and telling stories from Halloween adventures, etc, but….

I swore I was never going to do it again.

I swore this is process is not conducive to how I write.

I have tried this little challenge twice before and only driven myself crazy while mayhem increased ten-fold around here with household epidemics of flu and colds and viruses galore.

I swore I learned my lesson and would never do it again under any circumstances.

 (click to to join)

 

 

Yet, after professing much cheerleaderness to many friends who are participating, I got a waft of its heady perfume and became transfixed. On Day 2.

So I am a few thousand words behind, swore I will just use it to play, but in playing, I think I really do have something worth pursuing, and it’s another children’s novel.

What is wrong with me?!

Well, nothing really, I was bogged down in the edits of my ongoing manuscript, and I craved a little more creative freedom.

I am using it to get back in the habit of daily writing, of exercising my imagination, and I do not care if I make the 1667 words per day that nano made me insane with before.

Now the only thing driving me crazy is that I can only focus on the joy of this new little story in bits and pieces throughout my days of Continuous Interruptus.  And a little guilt that I am not wholly focused on the old project to finish its Draft 4.

But it’s not a lot of guilt. I feel like this is going to free up my brain a little bit so that when I do focus on the other project, I can be more creative where I’ve been stuck for so long.

Besides, I usually only give those edits a few hours once or twice a week at most lately even before Nanowrimo.

Why not add to the mayhem? At least this time, it’s for me.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “nanowrimo

  1. Weeeee I sucked you in! Well, no, really, it’s the sweet happy feel of NaNo that sucked you in and I’m really glad you’re going to use it for your own own means to do good in your world.

  2. Good luck with your NaNoWriMo attempt!

  3. Thanks, ladies!

  4. Sierra Brickbottom on said:

    Shoot for the moon- no stop until 50k

    And have fun along the way!!!!!!

  5. 🙂 thanks, i’m cheering you, too.

Leave a Reply

