musings in mayhem

writer, mom, tutor, superwoman

writing, editing

I have said it before, I am on my last few pages of my middle reader novel’s third major draft. Last time my schedule allowed me to even open the document was on January 31st. On that day, I think I worked over one paragraph.

Today, I have had the document opened for about three hours so far. I am halfway through another paragraph. Of course, I went back and edited a bit to get to the point of what I planned to edit today, to get me in the groove, so to speak, but really? Why does it take me so long to rewrite this darned paragraph yet again?

It finally occurred to me that it takes me so long, because every word and where I put them really counts this time. It matters so much, because I am in the final stretch and I really want to get it right. I don’t want it to be sloppy, I want it to convey exactly what I am going for.

The closer I get to the final page, the more it matters – the more every word counts. The more I don’t want to lean on phrasing I’ve written how many times before. The more I want my main character to see, the less I need to say he looked. You get my drift?

It matters so much.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “writing, editing

  1. I admire your tenacity. Can’t wait to hear you shout, “I’m done!” 🙂

  2. thanks, kelly, i can’t either. 🙂

  3. Oh I can’t imagine getting to that point – well done for getting so far. I’m having to rewrite my whole damn novel – have a writing mentor and she gave me some very good – but rather soul detroying advice which unfortunately was right – and now I have to make major changes. Keep going – its inspiring!

  4. thank you, alana. that is pretty much what happened with me, too. yes, necessary changes, but boy, it was hard to cut so much writing, and change a lot, too – i think the story comes across stronger now.

Leave a Reply

