musings in mayhem

writer, mom, tutor, superwoman

happy new year

We took a road trip and saw my family in Connecticut. And I now know I am not 20 years old and can just hop in a car and go whereever and not need a vacation to recuperate from the weekend away. Over a thousand miles in under three days. And the weekend before, we did five hundred.

I took pictures. I took pictures at the house where I grew up and I took pictures at the boat marina.

I haven’t uploaded them yet.

Mayhem rules the roost. School is back in session for the boys today, and for Toots tomorrow. I worked a full day at my part time job on the holiday day everyone else (not working in retail or emergency rooms) had off.

I came home late last night because I was so brain dead, I couldn’t count a small stack of twenties correctly.  When I came home, I couldn’t see straight or complete a thought. Then I went upstairs where  Lucy the terrorizing terrier has taken to peeing on the rug in the hall because we left her with Grandma instead of taking her with us.

Her pee spot didn’t look right, so I took her to the vet this morning. Tests came back fine, probably just a UTI. But of course she was overdue for her shots, etc….cha-ching!

Which reminds me, I need to take Babette, the ghetto queen cat in for her check-up, too.

And make Toots’s wellness appointment before the popular pediatrician fills up for the year…

I have to pick Captain Comic up early from school because he has an appointment this afternoon … and oh, Mr. Cynic’s bass lesson is today, and I am wondering if I can make it back in time from the other kiddo’s appointment.

I really do want to slow down and take a respite of some sort, but it will have to wait.  sigh.

But it was nice to see everyone in my family, however briefly, and celebrate being a family.

And now that I think of it, my family has always been full of mayhem. The more the merrier!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “happy new year

  1. thank you, kelly. 🙂

    I kind of collapsed last night.

Leave a Reply

