musings in mayhem

writer, mom, tutor, superwoman

accidents will happen

Apologies to Elvis Costello as I give a brief update, since I really shouldn’t be sitting up at the computer:

Much has been going on here in the land of mayhem, and then a car accident, and I was hurt, no blood, no bones, but I hurt ten days later. A lot. Working on some things, and I start physical therapy on Monday.

While I was trying to heal and rest and being on meds, Mr. Cynic similarly got into another accident within days of mine. So now we have two totaled vehicles.

Working on figuring out everything, moving forward, while trying not to move, but the mayhem continues, and so must I. But I shouldn’t quite yet.

I can laugh about some of this, but it hurts. But the good news is I can laugh.

Writing is currently on hold, except I decided to toss the sermon I was working on for months and had several drafts. That’s right, chucking it completely. After the two car accidents, I found “the piercing arrow” that is discussed in writing circles. Now I have about two weeks to get it right. It’s okay, most of my better work has been produced under the pressure of a deadline. It’s epiphanous.

As Samuel Beckett said,

I must go on. I can’t go on. I’ll go on.

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “accidents will happen

  1. Holy smoke, Cath. <3 <3 <3

  2. Oh Cathy, I seriously don’t know how all this stuff can happen all at once, but I’m incredibly hopeful when I can read that you can still laugh. Maybe through the pain, but you can laugh, and that’s an amazing gift.

    • thanks, biomouse, some moments it is laugh in order not to cry, but generally, my spirit is pretty good, even while my body hurts and i may occasionally shake my fist at karma. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

